# **University Awards**

# Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Research Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education, research and development of academic culture of Tohoku University.

Date	Name	Affiliation	
March 26, 2014	Masayuki Yamamoto	Professor, Graduate School of Medicine Executive Director, Tohoku Medical Megabank Organization	
March 27, 2013	Eimei Sato	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	
March 27, 2013	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Director of Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
September 25, 2009	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
March 25, 2009	Sadafumi Kawato	Professor, Graduate School of Law	
March 27, 2007	Koji Kato	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
September 25, 2006	Akihisa Inoue	Professor, Director of Institute for Materials Research	
July 31, 2006	Mitsumasa Koyanagi	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
March 24, 2006	Atsuto Suzuki	Vice President, Professor of Graduate School of Science	
November 26, 2005	Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science	
June 29, 2005	Hideo Ohno	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	

# Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Educational Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education at Tohoku University by conducting and supporting classes and giving a educational guidance on activities and international cultural exchange.

#### FY 2015

Name	Affiliation	
Takashi Sekiuchi	Professor, Institute for Excellence in Higher Education	
Kensuke Sugiura	Professor, Graduate School of International Cultural Studies	
International Eduation and Exchange, Graduate School of Economics and Management		
Hiroshi Ishikawa	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Science	
Yuko Suto	Specially Appointed Associate Professor, Institute of Engineering Education, School of Engineering	

#### FY 2014

Name	Affiliation
Daniel Eichhorst Ben Shearon	Senior Assistant Professors, Institute for Excellence in Higher Education
Steering Committee of Qatar Science Campus, Graduate School of Engineering	
Field Science Center, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	
International Post-Graduate Program in Human Se	curity

#### FY 2013

Name	Affiliation	
Teruo Asakawa	Professor, Center for the Advancement for Higher Education	
Masashige Motoe	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
Advisory Committee for the SERMSS Environmental Leadership Program at the Graduate School of Environmental Studies (SERMSS : Strategic Energy and Resource Management and Sustainable Solutions)		
Yasushi Hoshikawa	Assistant Professor, Institute of Development, Aging and Cancer	

## Recipients of the Presidential Award for Outstanding Students (FY 2015)

This award is given to recipients of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Ikushi Prize.

Name	Affiliation
Kanako Shojiki	Graduate School of Engineering

# Recipients of the President's Award (FY 2015)

This award recognizes students for their outstanding academic achievement.

# Undergraduate

Name	Affiliation
Syuhei Kato	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Akiko Shiina	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Ami Oishi	Faculty of Education
Kazuhiro Yamada	School of Law
Shota Suzuki	School of Law
Wataru Oketani	Faculty of Economics
Saki Tanaka	Faculty of Economics
Miwako Nakahama	Faculty of Economics
Masato Kanakubo	Faculty of Science
Yuji Nakashima	Faculty of Science
Hiroshi Fujioka	Faculty of Science
Fumiko Tomiyama	School of Medicine
Shizuka Yuri	School of Medicine
Mayu Takada	School of Medicine
Yumi Morita	School of Dentistry
Daichi Sano	Faculty of Phamaceutical Sciences
Yoshiki Takahashi	School of Engineering
Akie Sotoguchi	School of Engineering
Naoya Ikeda	School of Engineering
Masahiro Kato	School of Engineering
Takashi Saito	School of Engineering
Shunsuke Imai	School of Engineering
Shoko Kitamoto	School of Engineering
Moeko Matoba	School of Engineering
Risa Shimao	Faculty of Agriculture
Kazuki Kurasawa	Faculty of Agriculture

Name	Affiliation		
Shunsuke Matsubara	Graduate School of Law		
Graduate (Doctor)			
Name	Affiliation		
Polovnikova Elena	Graduate School of Arts and Letters		
Kai Nagase	Graduate School of Education		
Yoshifumi Ozawa	Graduate School of Economics and Management		
Kazuo Ota	Graduate School of Science		
Sho Nagao	Graduate School of Science		
Yoshitaka Koseki	Graduate School of Science		
Takeyasu Abe	Graduate School of Science		
Kentaro Tohma	Graduate School of Medicine		
Hiroyuki Nagashima	Graduate School of Medicine		
Yusuke Katsuda	Graduate School of Dentistry		
Miki Hosaka	Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences		
Takuya Mabuchi	Graduate School of Engineering		
Hiroyuki Miyazaki	Graduate School of Engineering		
Kiyonori Takahashi	Graduate School of Engineering		
Yuichi Shintaku	Graduate School of Engineering		
Daiki Matsunaga	Graduate School of Engineering		
Yuta Kudo	Graduate School of Agriculture		
Hiroo Kashima	Graduate School of International Cultural Studies		
Yasunobu Okamura	Graduate School of Information Sciences		
Yuichi Kawamoto	warnoto Graduate School of Information Sciences		
Morie Ishida	Graduate School of Life Sciences		
Riyan Achmad Budiman	Graduate School of Environmental Studies		
Naoki Takeishi	Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering		
Kohei Mori	Graduate School of Educational Informatics Education Division		

Graduate (Professional)

#### Graduate (Master)

Name	Affiliation
Eriko Hirayama	Graduate School of Engineering
Takayuki Sakurai	Graduate School of Engineering

# Recipients of the Students' Friendship Association Award

This award aims to honor students for outstanding achievement and who epitomize the reputation of Tohoku University.

Year	Name	Affiliation
	Yuuto Suzuki	English Speaking Society
	Kanako Satou	Wind Orchestra
FY 2015	Yoshiki Takahashi	Track and Field
	Tatsuki Degoshi	Tennis
	Tarou Oshiumi	Japanese Archery

## Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

This award is presented to outstanding and promising Chinese exchange students currently enrolled in the graduate school of Tohoku University.

Year	Name	Affiliation
FY 2015	Yueshan Li	Graduate School of Arts and Letters
	Jing Xue	Graduate School of Science
	Wei Guo	Graduate School of Engineering
	Pengfei Wang	Graduate School of Information Sciences
	Yong Fan	Graduate School of Environmental Studies

## Recipients of the Sawayanagi Memorial Prize

This award is given to individuals or groups that have played active roles and made substantial contribution in various fields as pioneers of gender equality in academia.

Year	Name	Affiliation	Category
Hisako Ohtsubo		Senior Researcher, Research Institute of Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy, Nihon University	The first prize
FY 2015 "Shindai Wits" (Ni	"Shindai Wits" (Niigata U	niversity)	The encouragement prize