University Awards

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Research Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education, research and development of academic culture of Tohoku University.

Date	Name	Affiliation	
March 26, 2014	Masayuki Yamamoto	Professor, Graduate School of Medicine Executive Director, Tohoku Medical Megabank Organization	
March 27, 2013	Eimei Sato	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	
March 27, 2013	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Director of Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
September 25, 2009	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
March 25, 2009	Sadafumi Kawato	Professor, Graduate School of Law	
March 27, 2007	Koji Kato	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
September 25, 2006	Akihisa Inoue	Professor, Director of Institute for Materials Research	
July 31, 2006	Mitsumasa Koyanagi	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
March 24, 2006	Atsuto Suzuki	Vice President, Professor of Graduate School of Science	
November 26, 2005	Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science	
June 29, 2005	Hideo Ohno	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Educational Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education at Tohoku University by conducting and supporting classes and giving a educational guidance on activities and international cultural exchange.

Year	Name	Affiliation	
	Teruo Asakawa	Professor, Center for the Advancement for Higher Education	
	Masashige Motoe	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
FY 2013	Advisory Committee for the SERMSS Environmental Leadership Program at the Graduate School of Environmental Studies (SERMSS: Strategic Energy and Resource Management and Sustainable Solutions)		
	Yasushi Hoshikawa	Assistant Professor, Institute of Development, Aging and Cancer	
	Mitsuru Haga	Professor, Center for the Advancement for Higher Education	
	Toshihiko Suzuki	Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Dentistry	
FY 2012	v-QI School, Graduate School of Engineering		
	The Information Literacy Education Program, Graduate School of Information Sciences		
	Committee for Exploring-Germination-and-Growth Program for Young Scientists		
	Minoru Katsuyama	Associate Professor, Graduate School of International Cultural Studies	
	Advanced Mathematics and Physics Special Education Project		
FY 2011	Hitoshi Tanaka Toshikuni Yonemoto	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
	Hitoshi Yonekura	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	
	PEM Educational Program Committee (PEM: Professional Ecosystem Manager)		

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Excellence (FY 2013)

Affiliation

Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering

Graduate School of Engineering Graduate School of Engineering

This prize recognizes students for their outstanding academic achievement.

Undergraduate

Name	Affiliation	
Yoko Asai	Faculty of Arts and Letters	
Natsuki Muto	Faculty of Arts and Letters	
Yuki Tomita	Faculty of Education	
Yutaro Mitsuzuka	School of Law	
Hiroki Awahara	School of Law	
Ayato Shimizu	Faculty of Economics	
Daiki Yamashita	Faculty of Economics	
Keisuke Kizaki	Faculty of Economics	
Shusuke Otabe	Faculty of Science	
JANA LUSTIKOVA	Faculty of Science	
Akira Takei	Faculty of Science	
Sakura Hiraide	School of Medicine	
Aya Ogawa	School of Medicine	
Chika Kasahara	School of Medicine	
Kouta Sugawara	School of Dentistry	
Touma Adachi	Faculty of Phamaceutical Sciences	
Ryo Aihara	School of Engineering	
Kousuke Totani	School of Engineering	
Kenji Owada	School of Engineering	
Masayasu Muraoka	School of Engineering	
Chihiro Kondou	School of Engineering	
Naoyuki Obara	School of Engineering	
Ziqian Wang	School of Engineering	
Yuki Takadate	School of Engineering	
Yoshino Saito	Faculty of Agriculture	
Graduate (Master)		

Graduate (Profession)

Name	Affiliation	
Yuho Ishikawa	Graduate School of Law	
Graduate (Doctor)		
Name	Affiliation	
Yousuke Kira	Graduate School of Arts and Letters	
Yoshikazu Nozaki	Graduate School of Education	
Masahiro Abe	Graduate School of Economics and Management	
Yu Kitabeppu	Graduate School of Science	
Thiago Junqueira De astro Bezerra	Graduate School of Science	
Tetsuya Fukuda	Graduate School of Science	
Tadatsugu Imamura	Graduate School of Medicine	
Jun Suzuki	Graduate School of Medicine	
Yoko Yagishita	Graduate School of Dentistry	
Koji Ando	Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences	
JUAN FELIPE TORRES ALVAREZ	Graduate School of Engineering	
Kensuke Suzuki	Graduate School of Engineering	
Ikuo Ushiki	Graduate School of Engineering	
Keisuke Ono	Graduate School of Engineering	
Syuhei Yoshino	Graduate School of Engineering	
Yasunori Baba	Graduate School of Agriculture	
RYAN EDWARD SPRING	Graduate School of International Cultural Studies	
Akira Suzuki	Graduate School of Information Sciences	
Hotaka Kobayashi	Graduate School of Life Sciences	
Takuya Ishibashi	Graduate School of Environmental Studies	
Xiumin Zhao	Graduate School of Educational Informatics Education Division	

(FY = Fiscal Year/ Financial Year)

Name

Toshiya Morimura

Xia Yuan Yuta Teruyama

Recipients of the Students' Friendship Association Award

This award aims to honor students for outstanding achievement and who epitomize the reputation of Tohoku University.

Year	Name	Affiliation
	Mitsuru Shibata	Wind Music
	Masayuki lwahashi	English Speaking Society
	Kazuki Okazaki	Athletic Sports
FY 2013	Shuji Endo	Tennis
	Akira Hanzawa	Swimming
	Takamasa Kanno	Orienteering
	Issei Susuta	Triathlon

Recipients of the Sawayanagi Prize

The Sawayanagi Prize is given to individuals or groups that have promoted gender equality in Tohoku University through gender related research and activities.

Year	Name	Affiliation	Category
FY 2012	A Rong Na	Graduate School of Economics and Management/Giving Birth and Child Rearing Program for International Students and Researchers / Region-university Cooperation Project Team Representitive	Activity

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award (Lu Xun Award)

This award is given to Chinese individuals or Chinese groups that made a significant contribution to the development of education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award

Year	Name	Affiliation	
FY 2005 Sun Yi		Director, Beijing Lu Xun Museum	
Tohoku Universiity Lu Xun Award			
Year	Name	Affiliation	
FY 2004	Gu Binglin	President, Tsinghua University	

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

This award is presented to outstanding and promising Chinese exchange students currently enrolled in the graduate school of Tohoku University.

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

Year	Name	Affiliation
	Peng, Ningning	Graduate School of Science
FY 2013	Sun Shulan	Graduate School of Medical
	Xu Bin	Graduate School of Engineering

Recipients of the Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize

This award is given to individuals or groups from other countries that have made a significant contribution to education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize

Year	Name	Nationality	Affiliation
FY 2006	Patrick Bourgin	France	Director, Ecole Centrale de Lyon
	Fondation Renault		
	Albert Prevos	France	Director, Centre international d'études pédagogiques
	Alain Storck	France	Director, INSA-Lyon
	Léo Vincent	France	Director, International Affairs, Ecole Centrale de Lyon
	Alain Reza Yavari	France	Professor, Institute National Polytechnique de Grenoble
FY 2004	John L. Stollery	United Kingdom	Emeritus Professor, Cranfield University
	A. Lindsay Greer	United Kingdom	Professor, University of Cambridge
	Sir Robert Yewdall Jennings	United Kingdom	Former President, International Court of Justice