Presidents of Tohoku University

Number	President	Took office	Left office
1st	Masataro Sawayanagi	March 24, 1911	May 8, 1913
2nd	Tokiyuki Hojo	May 9, 1913	August 24, 1917
(Acting President)	Masataka Ogawa	August 25, 1917	October 14, 1917
3rd	Ryojiro Fukuhara	October 15, 1917	June 20, 1919
4th	Masataka Ogawa	June 21, 1919	June 14, 1928
5th	Nikichi Inoue	June 15, 1928	June 14, 1931
6th	Kotaro Honda	June 15, 1931	May 30, 1940
7th	Taizo Kumagai	May 31, 1940	February 11, 1946
8th	Yasutaro Satake	February 12, 1946	March 31, 1949
9th	Satomi Takahashi	April 1, 1949	June 30, 1957
10th	Toshio Kurokawa	July 1, 1957	June 30, 1963
11th	Teruji Ishizu	July 1, 1963	October 4, 1965
(Acting President)	Isao Motomura	October 5, 1965	November 19, 1965
12th	Koichi Motokawa	November 20, 1965	February 2, 1971
(Acting President)	Yahiko Mizuno	February 3, 1971	April 30, 1971
13th	Mutsuo Kato	May 1, 1971	April 30, 1977
14th	Shiro Maeda	May 1, 1977	April 30, 1983
15th	Nakao Ishida	May 1, 1983	April 30, 1989
16th	Shigemori Ohtani	May 1, 1989	September 30, 1990
(Acting President)	Kaoru Yoshinaga	October 1, 1990	November 5, 1990
17th	Jun-ichi Nishizawa	November 6, 1990	November 5, 1996
18th	Hiroyuki Abé	November 6, 1996	November 5, 2002
19th	Takashi Yoshimoto	November 6, 2002	November 5, 2006
20th	Akihisa Inoue	November 6, 2006	March 31, 2012
21th	Susumu Satomi	April 1, 2012	



1st Masataro Sawayanagi



2nd Tokiyuki Hojo



3rd Ryojiro Fukuhara



4th Masataka Ogawa



5th Nikichi Inoue



6th Kotaro Honda



7th Taizo Kumagai



8th Yasutaro Satake



9th Satomi Takahashi



10th Toshio Kurokawa



11th Teruji Ishizu



12th Koichi Motokawa



13th Mutsuo Kato



14th Shiro Maeda



15th Nakao Ishida



16th Shigemori Ohtani



17th Jun-ichi Nishizawa



18th Hiroyuki Abé



19th Takashi Yoshimoto



20th Akihisa Inoue