Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Research Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education, research and development of academic culture of Tohoku University.

Date	Name	Affiliation	
September 25, 2009	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
March 25, 2009	Sadafumi Kawato	Professor, Graduate School of Law	
March 27, 2007	Koji Kato	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
September 25, 2006	Akihisa Inoue	Professor, Director of Institute for Materials Research	
July 31, 2006	Mitsumasa Koyanagi	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
March 24, 2006	Atsuto Suzuki	Deputy PresidentProfessor, Graduate School of Science	
November 26, 2005	Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science	
June 29, 2005	Hideo Ohno	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Educational Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education at Tohoku University by conducting and supporting classes and giving a educational guidance on activities and international cultural exchange.

FY 2011	
Name	Affiliation
Minoru Katsuyama	Associate Professor, Graduate School of International Cultural Studies
Advanced Mathematics and Physics Special Education Project	
Hitoshi Tanaka Toshikuni Yonemoto	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering Professor, Graduate School of Engineering
Hitoshi Yonekura	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science
PEM Educational Program Committee (PEM: Professional Ecosystem Manager)	
FY 2010	FY 2009

FY 2010		FY 2009	
Name	Affiliation	Name	Affiliation
Satoru Shimizu	Assosiate Professor, Graduate School of Science	Spanish Language Committee	
Eimei Sato	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	Hideki E.Ishida	Professor, Graduate School of Environmental Studies
Mitsuyuki Nakao	Professor, Graduate School of Information Sciences	Ryuzo Furukawa	Assosiate Professor, Graduate School of Environmental Studies
Toshiyuki Takagi	Professor, Institute of Fluid Science	Maki Suemitsu	Manager, Cultural Affairs of Tohoku University Students' Friendship Association Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication
Goro Masuya	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering		Manager, P.E. Affairs of Tohoku University Students' Friendship Association
Masahiro Yamaguchi	Professor, Graduate School of Science	Ryoichi Nagatomi	Professor, Graduate School of Medicine
Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science		

Recipients of the President's Disaster Contribution Award

This prize is given to individuals who made a great contribution to Tohoku University at the risk of their lives during the Great East Japan Earthquake.

Name	Affiliation	
Toyokazu Hiratsuka	Engineer, Field Science Center, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	
Katsuo Abe	Former temporary custodian, Field Science Center, Graduate School of Agricultural Science	

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Excellence (FY 2011)

This prize recognizes students for their outstanding academic achievement.

Undergraduate

Undergraduate	
Kazuhei Takamaeta	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Yuki Nishizawa	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Toshiyuki Kanbayashi	Faculty of Education
Ryou Kasahara	School of Law
Ryo Komatsu	School of Law
Yuki Aihara	Faculty of Economics
Dai Konno	Faculty of Economics
Aya Wada	Faculty of Economics
Shohei Okisaka	Faculty of Science
Takaya Sato	Faculty of Science
Ayumi Kato	Faculty of Science
Susumu Morosawa	School of Medicine
Syou Nakamura	School of Medicine
Mina Dodo	School of Dentistry
Taiki Sato	Faculty of Pharmacy and Phamaceutical Sciences
Yousuke Abe	School of Engineering
Daisuke Kikuchi	School of Engineering
Yuto Horiuchi	School of Engineering
Syun Kobayashi	School of Engineering
Yutaka Fukusawa	School of Engineering
Mizuki Murai	School of Engineering
Hitomi Iwaizako	School of Engineering
Junghyun Hong	School of Engineering
Kazune Sugaya	Faculty of Agriculture
Tatsunori Konishi	Faculty of Agriculture

Graduate (Master)	
Eka Higuchi	Graduate School of Law
Kazuki Morohoshi	Graduate School of Medicine
Shota Hokari	Graduate School of Engineering
Naoki Atomura	Graduate School of Engineering
Shimpei Morita	Graduate School of Engineering
Shunsuke Sato	Graduate School of Engineering
Marina Koda	Graduate School of Engineering
Graduate (Doctor)	
Midori Endo	Graduate School of Arts and Letters
Hiromi Ishimori	Graduate School of Education
Tomohiro Kakinuma	Graduate School of Economics and Management
Masaaki Kudo	Graduate School of Science
Hiroko Watanabe	Graduate School of Science
Shunpei Hitosugi	Graduate School of Science
Naoya Fujino	Graduate School of Medicine
Tadasu Sato	Graduate School of Dentistry
Yui Yamamoto	Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Osamu Takakuwa	Graduate School of Engineering
Guan Pengyu	Graduate School of Engineering
Seiji Kojima	Graduate School of Agriculture
Meng Hairong	Graduate School of International Cultural Studies
Yoshiyuki Kashiwase	Graduate School of Information Sciences
Teppei Moriwaki	Graduate School of Life Sciences
Tsugumi Hayashi	Graduate School of Environmental Studies
Yukiko Watanabe	Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering
Tetsuya Ueki	Graduate School of Educational Informatics Education Division

Recipients of the Sawayanagi Prize

The Sawayanagi Prize is given to individuals or groups that have promoted gender equality in Tohoku University through gender related research and activities.

FY 2011

Name	Affiliation	Category
Kyoko Asakura	Professor, Graduate School of Medicine	Research

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award (Lu Xun Award)

This award is given to Chinese individuals or Chinese groups that made a significant contribution to the development of education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award		Tohoku Universiity Lu Xun Award			
Year	Name	Affiliation	Year	Name	Affiliation
FY 2005	Sun Yi	Director, Beijing Lu Xun Museum	FY 2004	Gu Binglin	President, Tsinghua University

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

This award is presented to outstanding and promising Chinese exchange students currently enrolled in the graduate school of Tohoku University. Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

Year	Name	Affiliation
51/0011	Zhu Hua	Gladuate school of Science
	Haorile	Graduate School of Medicine
FY 2011	Zhao Xiaoli	Graduate School of Engineering
	Wen Lei	Graduate School of Life Sciences

Recipients of the Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize

This award is given to individuals or groups from other countries that have made a significant contribution to education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize				
Year	Name Nationality		Affiliation	
	Patrick Bourgin	France	Director, Ecole Centrale de Lyon	
	Fondation Renaul			
	Albert Prevos	France	Director, Centre international d'études pédagogiques	
FY 2006	Alain Storck	France	Director, INSA-Lyon	
	Léo Vincent	France	Director, International Affairs, Ecole Centrale de Lyon	
	Alain Reza Yavari	France	Professor, Institute National Polytechnique de Grenoble	

Year	Name	Nationality	Affiliation
	John L. Stollery	United Kingdom	Emeritus Professor, Cranfield University
FY 2004	A. Lindsay Greer	United Kingdom	Professor, University of Cambridge
	Sir Robert Yewdall Jennings	United Kingdom	Former President, International Court of Justice

Recipients of the Students' Friendship Association Award (FY 2011)

This award aims to honor students for outstanding achievement and who epitomize the reputation of Tohoku University.

Name	Affiliation	
Nozomu Nabasama	Mandolin Music	
Syuntaro Endo	Calligraphy	
Takuya Yanabe	Orienteering	