University Awards

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Research Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education, research and development of academic culture of Tohoku University.

Date	Name	Affiliation	
September 25, 2009	Masataka Nakazawa	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
March 25, 2009	Sadafumi Kawato	Professor, Graduate School of Law	
March 27, 2007	Koji Kato	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
September 25, 2006	Akihisa Inoue	Professor, Director of Institute for Materials Research	
July 31, 2006	Mitsumasa Koyanagi	Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
March 24, 2006 Atsuto Suzuki Deputy President Professor, Graduate School of Science 24, 2006		Deputy President Professor, Graduate School of Science	
November 26, 2005	Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science	
June 29, 2005	Hideo Ohno	Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Educational Excellence

This prize is given to academic staff of Tohoku University who have made a significant contribution to education at Tohoku University by conducting and supporting classes and giving a educational guidance on activities and international cultural exchange.

FY 2010

0.0	
Name	Affiliation
Satoru Shimizu	Assosiate Professor, Graduate School of Science
Eimei Sato	Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science
Mitsuyuki Nakao	Professor, Graduate School of Information Sciences
Toshiyuki Takagi Professor, Institute of Fluid Science Goro Masuya Professor, Graduate School of Engineering	
Masahiro Yamaguchi Motoko Kotani	Professor, Graduate School of Science Professor, Graduate School of Science

FY 2009

Name	Affiliation	
Spanish Language Committee		
Hideki E.Ishida Ryuzo Furukawa	Professor, Graduate School of Environmental Studies Assosiate Professor, Graduate School of Environmental Studies	
Maki Suemitsu	Manager, Cultural Affairs of Tohoku University Students' Friendship Association Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication	
Ryoichi Nagatomi	Manager, P.E. Affairs of Tohoku University Students' Friendship Association Professor, Graduate School of Medicine	

FY 2008

Name	Affiliation	
Akira Sato	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Medicine	
Kazuko Suematsu	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Economics and Management	

Recipients of the Presidential Prize for Excellence (FY 2010)

This prize recognizes students for their outstanding academic achievement.

Undergraduate

Yuko Igarashi	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Hiromi Sato	Faculty of Arts and Letters
Yuko Shirai	Faculty of Education
Akira Takada	School of Law
Masahito Yone	School of Law
Wenbo Wang	Faculty of Economics
Yumiko Takahashi	Faculty of Economics
Yuta Wakatuki	Faculty of Economics
Ryo Takahashi	Faculty of Science
Yusuke Saitou	Faculty of Science
Takayuki Nakatani	Faculty of Science
Shinya Ogishima	School of Medicine
Akihiro Saito	School of Medicine
Aya Shibamoto	School of Dentistry
Eriko Itai	Faculty of Pharmacy and Phamaceutical Sciences
Ryota Ifuku	School of Engineering
Nobuo Namura	School of Engineering
Yuhei Ohtomo	School of Engineering
Kanako Shojiki	School of Engineering
Shuko Shimamori	School of Engineering
Masaki Ueda	School of Engineering
Yuusuke Nakajima	School of Engineering
Shinsuke Otawara	Faculty of Agriculture
Shiaki Takagi	Faculty of Agriculture

Graduate (Master)

Naomichi Iwata	Graduate School of Engineering	
Munehito Kagaya	Graduate School of Engineering	
Hiroki Takahashi	Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering	

Graduate(Profession)

Graduate(Froiession)			
Tomofumi Imai	Graduate School of Law		
Graduate (Doctor)			
Shihoko Yamamoto	Graduate School of Arts and Letters		
Kenji Yokotani	Graduate School of Education		
Tomoyasu Yamaguchi	Graduate School of Economics and Management		
Toshiyuki Arakane	Graduate School of Science		
Kenta Mizuse	Graduate School of Science		
Yasutaka Omori	Graduate School of Science		
Yasumasa Kuroda	Graduate School of Medicine		
Akira Sumiyoshi	Graduate School of Medicine		
Yuki Abiko	Graduate School of Dentistry		
Shigeki Sato	Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences		
Kei Shibata	Graduate School of Engineering		
Soichiro Sekine	Graduate School of Engineering		
Masaki Endo	Graduate School of Engineering		
Takahiro Imai	Graduate School of Engineering		
Kenichi Abe	Graduate School of Engineering		
Mutsumi Fukuda	Graduate School of Agriculture		
Jia Che	Graduate School of International Cultural Studies		
Fadlullah Zubair MD.	Graduate School of Information Sciences		
Kenichi Kitanishi	Graduate School of Life Sciences		
Peilin Zhang	Graduate School of Environmental Studies		
Erina Gvoba	Graduate School of Educational Informatics Education Division		

University Awards

Recipients of the Sawayanagi Prize

The Sawayanagi Prize is given to individuals or groups that have promoted gender equality in Tohoku University through gender related research and activities.

FY 2010

Name	Affiliation	Category
Yohei Mogi	Ph.D. Student, Graduate School of Law	Research
Hisaku Abe	Staff, Graduate School of Science	
Miwa Kuri	Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Science	Project (Special Award)
Yuko Murakami	Associate Professor, Graduate School of Science	

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award (Lu Xun Award)

This award is given to Chinese individuals or Chinese groups that made a significant contribution to the development of education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Award

Year Name		Affiliation	
FY 2005	Sun Yi	Director, Beijing Lu Xun Museum	

Tohoku University Lu Xun Award

Year	Name	Affiliation	
FY 2004	Gu Binglin	President, Tsinghua University	

Recipients of the Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award (Lu Xun Incentive Award)

This award is presented to outstanding and promising Chinese exchange students currently enrolled in the graduate school of Tohoku University.

Tohoku University's Professor Fujino Incentive Award

Year	Name	Affiliation	
	Wang, Jiang	Graduate school of Economics and Management	
FY 2010	Chen, Guixing	Gladuate school of Science	
F1 2010	Hu, Chunyan	Graduate School of Medicine	
	Zhang, Zhiyu	Graduate School of Engineering	

Recipients of the Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize

This award is given to individuals or groups from other countries that have made a significant contribution to education and research at Tohoku University through academic exchange.

Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize

Year	Name	Nationality	Affiliation
	Patrick Bourgin	France	Director, Ecole Centrale de Lyon
	Fondation Renault		
	Albert Prevos	France	Director, Centre international d'études pédagogiques
FY 2006	Alain Storck	France	Director, INSA-Lyon
	Léo Vincent	France	Director, International Affairs, Ecole Centrale de Lyon
	Alain Reza Yavari	France	Professor, Institute National Polytechnique de Grenoble

Year	Name	Nationality	Affiliation
FY 2004	John L. Stollery	United Kingdom	Emeritus Professor, Cranfield University
	A. Lindsay Greer	United Kingdom	Professor, University of Cambridge
	Sir Robert Yewdall Jennings	United Kingdom	Former President, International Court of Justice

Recipients of the Students' Friendship Association Award (FY 2010)

This award aims to honor students for outstanding achievement and who epitomize the reputation of Tohoku University.

Name	Affiliation
Masaki Sawano	Drama
Shogo Ota	Game of Go
Soichiro Mitsumori	Orienteering

Name	Affiliation
Asuka Terada	Kyudo
Takahito Fujimoto	Triathlon
Mikako Kato	Lacrosse