Prize Winners 2008

(August 2008-July 2009)

The American Institute of Physics

The American Institute of Physics Prize was awarded to President Akihisa Inoue and Professor Terunobu Miyazaki. The award ceremony was held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, U.S., on March 16, 2009.

James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

Akihisa Inoue President of Tohoku University

Development of a Manufacture Method of Bulk Metallic Glasses (BMG) by Gradual Cooling

James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials was established in 1975, and is awarded to researchers for their outstanding achievements in material physics. Many Nobel Prize winners were awarded the authoritative prize. Among Japanese winners, Reona Ezaki, winning of the Nobel Prize in physics, and Professor Sumio lizima at Meijyo University who graduated from Tohoku University, and discovered carbon nanotube (CNT) were awarded James C. McGroddy Prize in 1985 and in 2002, respectively. President Inoue shared the prize with Professor William L. Johnson at California Institute of Technology

Awarded in March 2009



Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize

Terunobu Miyazaki

Professor, WPI Advanced Institute for Materials Research

Highly Praised as a Pioneer of Tunnel Magnetoresistance Effect

Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize, established in 1952, commemorates Oliver E. Buckley, a former president of Bell Laboratories. The prize is awarded to researchers for their outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to solid-state physics. Giaever (tunnel effect, 1973.) Professor Miyazaki's pioneering work on Tunnel Magnetoresistance Effect and application of his research results to spintronics are highly evaluated. He shared the prize with Professor R. Meservey, Professor J. Moodera, and Professor P. Tedrow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT.)

Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Akira Endo

Specially Appointed Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science

Discovered Statin, and contributed to Treatment of Heart Disease

Specially Appointed Professor Akira Endo was honored with 2008 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award, the highest prize for medicine called the stepping stone to the Nobel Prize in the U.S. It is a significant outcome that he is the 5th Japanese winner following Professor Susumu Tonegawa at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

(MIT) who is a Nobel Prize laureate in Physiology or Medicine. Professor Endo discovered the

Many Nobel Prize winners

were awarded the prize such

as William Bradford Shockley

(semiconductor, 1953,) John

Bardeen (1954,) and Ivar

substance that remarkably lowers LDL-cholesterol in blood from blue mold culture fluid. The finding has led

to the production of statin drug, the cholesterol-lowering drug that is currently used all over the world. The newly produced drug is called a miracle drug just as penicillin is. The research results with domestic and global cooperation over many years have been highly recognized, and used for treatment including for heart diseases.



Imperial Prize and Japan Academy Prize

Awarded in March 2009

Tetsumi Murakami, Professor Emeritus, Graduate School of Arts and Letters Produced Prominent Results in China-Japan Study

Professor Tetsumi Murakami has systematically and historically pursued Chinese poetry in Sung dynasty. To show the viewpoint of literary history through researches on China-Japan Study has produced his prominent results.



2009 Japan Academy Prize

Awarded in March 2009

Sadafumi Kawato, Professor, Graduate School of Law Showing the Direction of Japanese Politics

Professor Sadafumi Kawato has combined the qualitative political history research and the quantitative empirical research through cutting-edge theoretic analyses on the themes of "Election System and Political Party System," and "Japanese Parliament System and Party Politics."



Medal with Purple Ribbon Spring 2009

Awarded in April 2009

Eimei Sato, Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural Science Act as a Pioneer in Animal Reproduction

Professor Eimei Sato has produced pioneering achievements in a series of researches including development of in vitro maturation (IVM) using domestic animals, and cultivated the way for advanced use of the ovary and the ovum.



Elected to IEEE Fellow

Elected in January 2009

Satoshi Tadokoro, Professor, Graduate School of Information Sciences Leading to the Development of Rescue Robotics

Professor Satoshi Tadokoro has been elected to Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) that has internationally led the Electrical and Electronic field on January 1, 2009. The reason to be elected is his taking leadership in the development of rescue robotics.

Topics

Selected as No. 1 University by Japanese High School Teachers for 4 consecutive years

In the "University Ranking" published by the Asahi Shimbun Company, Tohoku University has successively ranked top since 2006. The newspaper conducted a questionnaire survey of high school teachers in charge of the counseling to enter higher educational institutions across Japan. This result may indicate that our research and education have been fairly evaluated in recent years. In the same survey, Tohoku University has been the top for 2 consecutive years among universities where the students show improvements in performance after entering.

No.1/Tohoku University

No.2/The University of Tokyo No.3/Keio University No.4/Tsukuba University No.5/Ritsumeikan University (University Ranking 2010)

Ranked World's No.3 of ESI's Most Cited Papers in Materials Science

As of July 2009, Essential Science Indicators (ESI) shows that Tohoku University ranked world's No.3 of paper citation in Materials Science. The university ranked 1st in the same field and 2nd in Physics in Japan. Thomson Reuters has published ESI that provides paper citation ranking.

3rd in the world (1st in Japan)/Materials Science

10th in the world (2nd in Japan) /Physics 17th in the world (5th in Japan) /Chemistry 51st in the world (3rd in Japan) /Engineering (Ranking of Academic Paper Citation 1999 -2009)



Awarded in September 2008



Awarded in March 2009